Marin Alsop

A conductor of vision and distinction, Marin Alsop represents a powerful and inspiring voice. She is internationally recognised for her innovative approach to programming and audience development, deep commitment to education, and advocacy for music’s importance in the world.

Chief Conductor of the ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra and Conductor of Honour of Brazil’s São Paulo Symphony Orchestra (OSESP), Alsop will become Music Director Laureate at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra in 2021 after 14 years as the orchestra’s Music Director.

She opens the Orchestre de Paris’ 2020/21 season, and returns to the London Symphony both at the Barbican and in their residency at the Music Academy of the West.

Throughout 2020, Alsop helms a global project marking Beethoven’s 250th anniversary in collaboration with Carnegie Hall. She has crafted reimagined performances of Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony with ten orchestras at leading venues on six continents; partners include London’s Southbank Centre, where she is Associate Artist.

The first and only conductor to receive a MacArthur Fellowship, Alsop has also been honored with the World Economic Forum’s Crystal Award, and made history as the first female conductor of the BBC’s Last Night of the Proms. Amongst many awards – including multiple Gramophone Awards – and academic positions, she is Director of Graduate Conducting at the Johns Hopkins University’s Peabody Institute and holds Honorary Doctorates from Yale University and the Juilliard School.

To promote and nurture the careers of her fellow female conductors, in 2002 she founded the Taki Concordia Conducting Fellowship.

marin alsop

Cheffe d’orchestre visionnaire, Marin Alsop est une voix puissante qui inspire. Elle est reconnue internationalement pour son approche novatrice de la programmation et du développement du spectateur, pour son engagement profond en faveur de l’éducation et sa défense de la musique à travers le monde.

Cheffe de l’Orchestre symphonique de la radio de Vienne ORF et cheffe d’honneur de l’Orchestre symphonique de São Paulo (OSESP), Alsop deviendra directrice musicale émérite de l’Orchestre symphonique de Baltimore en 2021, après 14 ans à la direction musicale de l’orchestre.

Elle ouvre la saison 2020/21 de l’Orchestre de Paris et revient à la London Symphony à la fois au Barbican et en résidence à la Music Academy of the West.

Tout au long de 2020, Alsop dirige un projet mondial marquant le 250ème anniversaire de Beethoven en collaboration avec Carnegie Hall. Elle réinvente une série de concerts de la Neuvième Symphonie de Beethoven avec dix orchestres dans les plus grandes salles du monde; les partenaires incluent le Southbank Centre de Londres, où elle est artiste associée.

Première et unique cheffe d’orchestre à recevoir une bourse MacArthur, Alsop a également reçu le Crystal Award du Forum économique mondial et est entré dans l’histoire en tant que première femme a diriger Last Night of the Proms de la BBC. Entre autres prix – y compris plusieurs Gramophone Awards – et postes universitaires, elle est directrice des études supérieures de direction au Peabody Institute de l’Université Johns Hopkins et détient des doctorats honorifiques de l’Université de Yale et de la Juilliard School.

Pour promouvoir et nourrir la carrière de toutes les cheffes d’orchestre, elle a fondé en 2002 la bourse de direction Taki Concordia.